Skip to content
Hardcover The Kingdom of Back Book

ISBN: 1524739014

ISBN13: 9781524739010

The Kingdom of Back

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Like New*

*Best Available: (ex-library)

$12.49
Save $6.50!
List Price $18.99

1 Available

Book Overview

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Marie Lu comes a historical YA fantasy about a musical prodigy and the dangerous lengths she'll go to make history remember her--perfect for fans of Susanna Clarke and The Hazel Wood . Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish--to be remembered forever. But even as she delights audiences with her masterful playing, she has little...

Customer Reviews

6 ratings

beautiful writing

decimal rating: 3.72 stars the kingdom of back is a historical retelling of the life of nannerl mozart, the unknown sister of her more famous younger brother. nannerl is a young woman with a penchant and talent for music, and wishes to be a composer. however, in eighteenth century europe, women are forbidden to compose. at the same time, her beloved younger brother begins to showcase immense talent that overshadows her own. eclipsed in his shadows, nannerl is afraid of disappearing and wishes for her own name to be the one renowned and remembered centuries later. she discovers that her music creates a door to an alternate world, "the kingdom of back." there, she meets hyacinth, a mysterious prince who offers to grant her wishes. nannerl strikes a deal with hyacinth, but not without a grave cost. i had high expectations for kingdom of back because i loved the legend trilogy so much!! i thought that the book was wonderfully written, but it didn't really meet my expectations fully. then again, it is pretty hard for any book to be as legendary as legend. i enjoyed reading the kingdom of back and i thought it was interesting to have a glimpse into the life of the mozart family, especially mozart's largely unknown older sister. nannerl mozart is an intriguing protagonist and i love how her character growth and arc over the course of the book. in addition, i really appreciate how marie lu writes siblings. first, day and edan from legend, and now nannerl and woferl mozart. she captures that unbreakable bond, like a built-in best friend from birth you'd do anything for. some of the other things that i really liked about the kingdom of back was the worldbuilding and the elegant writing style. lu's writing style really captures the feeling of music and nannerl's voice as well as the otherworldly feel of the kingdom of back. the worldbuilding of the fantastical elements is also wonderfully executed, and it really feels like the kingdom of back is expansive and believable. also the regular world is also wonderfully showcased too as the mozart family tours europe, and there is a good amount of historical details, like the reference to marie antoinette, scattered through the narration that makes the time period come to life. my main two criticisms of the book are that the ending felt a bit rushed, and the entire plot was predictable. that being said, i don't think that the predictability was that hindering of the experience at all. although i knew what nannerl was going to choose or the outcome was going to be, i think part of it is just that historical fiction is generally easier to predict. and also, the writing was really so amazing that i didn't care too much the predictability. about the rushed ending, i would say that it was okay, but could have been fleshed out more, with definitely an extra chapter centered around the sibling dynamic. also i did not like how the epilogue was written in present tense while the rest of the book was written in past. i think that switch-up really pulled me out of the book for some reason which was not the best feeling. other than those things, the kingdom of back was fantastic, and i would recommend this book, especially to the music lovers out there!!

Mozart's sister reimagined

Marie Lu, known for her fantasy and science fiction has created a well-written and imaginative story about the childhood of the Mozart siblings. Wolfgang Mozart had an older sister nicknamed Nannerl, and together they imagined a fantasy land called the Kingdom of Back. Nannerl, like her brother, is a enormous talent in terms of playing and composing music, but it is 18th century Europe and women are not allowed to openly compose or have musical careers. Her greatest wish is to be remembered forever. Enter Hyacinthe, a faerie prince from the Kingdom of Back, who offers to make Nannerl's wish a reality, if she will complete a series of tasks for him. At first Nannerl is enthusiastic as she follows his wishes, but soon realizes that there is a sinister price that comes with Hyacinthe's demands. She realizes she must rethink her priorities. A big theme is this novel is the constraints that were placed on women in this time, and it made me wonder how many talented women throughout history were unable to pursue their dreams. Four and a half stars.

The Plot was Astounding

This book I have to say was a major favorite. I was skeptical if this book was based on someone real, but after reading the Acknowledgements I was surprised and sad. I related to this character on a personal level especially because I also have a younger brother prodigy. I was most ashamed of not learning about how Mozart's sister was never mentioned in school, but she left some of her work within her brothers music. I love this character and sibling relationship. I could not put down this book. It made me see something with my brother that I had never seen before.

Another Look at History

I'm a little ashamed to say that I had no idea Maria Anna "Nannerl" Mozart existed prior to this book. I'm not big on classical music, so there really wasn't a way for me to know of her, but I'm nonetheless sad that I had never heard of her before this. I mean, I'd heard of Wolfgang Mozart plenty before, but never her which is terribly sad. Because this was my first introduction to her, despite the fact that it was fictional, I became very invested in her story. I found myself entranced by this unique and fantastical take on her life, and her relationship with her brother. It is inherently a very fragile thing, given the nature of how society treated her versus her brother, but it was handled very well in my opinion. Truthfully, this style of book was a little unexpected from Marie Lu (who I only know of from her dystopian work), but she clearly knew what she was doing. So far, its my favorite work from her yet!

The Kingdom Of Back Review

To be honest I don't really read book descriptions, ive seen this book for what seems like a year (and might have been lmao) in giveaways, I saw it on libby and snagged it immediately!! I really wanted to read this book originally due to the name, genres and amazingly awesome cover and then I started it and LOVED IT!!! I grew up in a family that loved music so this was really a book up my ally and to find out the history behind it in the end?!?! amazing. This is hands down going to be one of the best books I will read this year, I already know it lol but its so great I don't mind, I can just read it again. I really loved everything about this book, the characters are amazing, this historical accuracy again, amazing, the world this book painted just fantastic and magical. must own book imo.

The Kingdom of Back is a wonder!

I was so very lucky to get an ARC of this book from BookishFirst. This novel was really really good! It is combines history and magic into a fantastic story and I loved it! This book follows the childhood of Nannerl and Woferl (Maria Anna and Wolfgang) Mozart who in real life to stave off boredom on their long journeys by coach, created an imaginary kingdom called the Kingdom of Back. Marie Lu has written a wonderful book and has added the concept that that kingdom was in fact real. She deftly weaves fact and fiction together to create this dark masterpiece where Nannerl is trying to leave her mark in a time when women are seen and not heard, unless you are a prodigy and that only lasts till you are grown. She is promised by Hyacinth, a mysterious figure from the Kingdom, that in return for doing some task, he will grant her wish. But all is not as it seems and the twists were great! Also, I did not like their father. He pushed both of them so hard traveling all through Europe, showing them off to royalty as prodigies and expecting perfection and compositions at the drop of a hat to pay his bills. This book shows the love between Nannerl and her brother and after I read this story, I had to go and learn more about Maria Anna Mozart. I am glad that Marie Lu has written this book so that Maria Anna will no longer be forgotten.
Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured