Skip to content
Hardcover When Breath Becomes Air Book

ISBN: 081298840X

ISBN13: 9780812988406

When Breath Becomes Air

Select Format

Select Condition ThriftBooks Help Icon

Selected

Format: Hardcover

Condition: Very Good

$8.19
Save $17.81!
List Price $26.00

2 Available

Book Overview

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor...

Customer Reviews

9 ratings

🙌🏻

One of my favorites!

Breath, air

Dr. K was real, open, honest. I was drawn ind and couldn't put it down and felt some of his pain, and triumphs. Breath becomes air is a reminder that we will all walk that path, but how we walk is more important than most of us realize or acknowledge.

Fantastic read!

I cannot recommend this book enough! It’s full of life, even through his own death. You feel the love for his wife and family, but you also feel the passion he had for neuroscience and for his patients. As a health care provider myself, I can’t help but truly appreciate I had the chance to read something so beautiful from such a wonderful neurosurgeon, husband, son, and father.

I hope I never get over this book.

Intimate,literate, profoundly moving. A journey down a road we will all make.

Powerful, Moving, Emotional

A touching novel about love, life, and loss. Sometimes it's only in the face of losing it all that we realize what all we really have. This novel is a gift to the world from a man who cherished his life to the last.

A Must-Read

I bought this as a resource for a paper I'm writing about death for a college course. My own husband died in 2015 from cancer, so reading this book was emotional for me. I'm glad I read it. Everyone should read this book. I felt like I knew Paul just from reading his book. And Lucy's ending was very well-written. I finished this in 2 days because I couldn't put it down.

It’s so amazing and so true!

I cried so much. Such a great talented human being. Extremely sad to see him go. All he says is so true. Questions that all human being should ask regardless of their social class, race or gender.

Just a Brilliant Man Lost

Both my husband and I read this in two days. Trying to find 10 used copies to give to our friends. Cannot recommend enough. Ten stars.

Great piece of work. It is will touch your heart definitely.

Copyright © 2020 Thriftbooks.com Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Do Not Sell My Personal Information | Accessibility Statement
ThriftBooks® and the ThriftBooks® logo are registered trademarks of Thrift Books Global, LLC
GoDaddy Verified and Secured